Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love our life in the country. The beauty and quiet is often my sanity. We’re blessed to be surrounded by trees (a rare treat in our part of Oklahoma) and hummingbirds visit us daily. The Mississippi Kites are back and there’s even been a mystery visitor lately. Something has been eating my pepper and tomato plants, you guys! I’ve gone from about 10 plants to just one. I wish I had a camera to capture the antics!

All this beauty and mystery makes life exciting, but among it all is one thing I absolutely cannot tolerate. Every year a few make their way into my house and I’m immediately ready to call a realtor, house for sale, just don’t mind the scorpions! I’ve been researching ways to run off these creepy crawlers and it sounds like they’re pretty darn resilient, but I won’t be deterred. I’m taking every one of these tips and putting them to good use!

Tips to Scorpion Proof Your Home:

  • Clear clutter by cleaning up piles of wood, leaves and debris around the outside of your home.
  • Seal any cracks or crevices they could enter through. I read that they can sneak in cracks the width of a credit card.
  • Spray your doors, windows, and home exterior often. We will talk making a safe, all natural DIY Spray later.
  • Sweep or hose off your porch regularly. Just don’t let excess water or moisture hang around.
  • Get yourself a cat or chicken, supposedly they are scorpion killers extraordinaire, who knew.
  • Sprinkle diatomaceous earth around the perimeter of your house. Contact with this material causes dehydration of their exoskeleton.
  • Keep their food source (other insects) under control.
  • Declutter inside. They love to hide in shoes, blankets, and other dark spots (just typing this makes me anxious).

So, what did I discover to be natural repellents? Essential Oils, specifically Lavender, Cedarwood, Citrus Oils, and Cinnamon. I planted lavender all around our house last year and it’s really taken off. It was completely unintentional, but I’m excited to see if it’s a deterrent. These DIY Sprays are what I’ll be trying:

Lavender and Cedarwood Indoor Spray:

2 Cups Water
25 Drops Lavender
25 Drops Cedarwood
Pinch of Sea Salt

Mix all ingredients in a spray bottle and indoor perimeter of home, especially closets and windows.

Outdoor Scram Spray:

2 Cups Water
25 Drops Lavender
25 Drops Cedarwood
25 Drops Orange (or other citrus oil)
25 Drops of Cinnamon

I’m choosing to use this recipe outside because I read cinnamon is also a natural snake repellent. Our sweet doodle was bit in the face last year and I don’t want that happening again! Do you have a go to scorpion repellent? If so, please share! I’ll take all the advice I can get!

References:

http://www.naturalorganicfamilies.com/natural-living-natural-scorpion-repellent-ideas/

http://bugweedmart.com/2011/12/how-to-get-rid-of-scorpions/

