We are headed to Tulsa this weekend for the Williams Route 66 Marathon. Route 66 is one of my favorite half-marathons. For the last few years I have signed up as a charitable partner and spend the months prior rasing money for my chosen charity, the Tulsa SPCA. This year it’s more important to me than ever before. My mom, who died in May, was a huge animal lover and I will be running in her memory. I’m so excited to represent her, I know it would make her proud. As we get ready to run I would also ask that you say a prayer for Route 66 Marathon Founder and Director, Chris Lieberman. Chris was injured in March and continues on the road to recovery. You can show your support, see updates, and follow his progress here.

In Oklahoma we are finally getting a taste of cooler weather. I may or may not have turned the heat on briefly this morning. My husband will just love that! I always welcome the cooler weather because it cuts down my time. This year I am looking to qualify for the Pikes Peak Ascent. I’ll be pushing my limits which means soreness will follow. This DIY Soak is one of my favorite ways to treat post run discomfort. Simply add your ingredients to a glass jar, give it a shake, and pour into a warm bath as it’s filling. I like to get my water a little warmer than normal and soak for as long as I can, it’s the perfect time to get into a good book.

You will need:

Epsom Salt – 1 cup

Baking Soda – 1 cup

Copaiba Essential Oil – 6 drops

R.C Essential Oil – 6 drops

PanAway Essential Oil (optional) – 2-3 drops

Copaiba is a calming oil that is perfect post workout. It’s supports overall wellness and tastes great in hot tea.
img_3232

R.C. is one of my favorite oils to rub on my feet after I run. It’s so soothing to tired bodies.If you’re feeling especially sore add a few drops of PanAway to the mix.

img_3233

This heavenly blend of oils, aroma, warmth and relaxation will leave you feeling pampered and refreshed. This Post-Run Soak is a must for me after every run. I always try to fit it in before the long car ride home. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed!

img_3060

