Tags

, , ,

Photo Credit: Oklahoma City Museum & Memorial

On April 26 I was able to mark something off my bucket list by running my first full marathon. It was the most mentally and physically challenging thing I have ever attempted, luckily I had my father in law and husband by my side to keep me moving forward. There were so many times I thought I couldn’t take another step, but we finished together and I loved every minute of it. Running 26.2 miles gives you plenty of time to think. There are I few things I realized along the way that I thought I could share.

1. I LOVE Oklahoma – I chose the Memorial Marathon as my first full for many reasons. The heinous acts of 1995 are forever etched in my memory. I can remember being glued to the television in disbelief for days on end as the horrific scene unfolded. I am proud that I can run to honor the lives lost that horrific day. If you are a runner and have never participated in the Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon you must add it to your list. Also, plan to visit the Oklahoma City Memorial and Museum. Your visit is guaranteed to be a moving experience.
2. I am sticking to the half – I have been running a long time. I can basically, without bragging too much here :), dominate a half. When I’m finished I feel like a million bucks and I am ready to do it again. As for the marathon,  this race dominated me. I was limping to the finish humbled to say the least.
3. Don’t forget the sun screen – typically I am finished running early and the sun doesn’t get to me. Not on a marathon. I was beet red and miserable. I spent the evening feeling like I had the flu and my sunburn was ten times worse than my sore muscles. I finally became coherent enough to mix up an oil combo that gave me some relief!
DIY Sunburn Relief:
  • Lavender – 2 drops
  • Elemi – 2 drops
  • Peppermint – 2 drops
  • Frankincense – 2 drops
  • Witch Hazel – 1 tsp.
  • Distilled Water
Add your essential oils and witch hazel to spray bottle and swirl to mix. Fill with distilled water, shake, and spray on lobster skin as needed! Have a great weekend and enjoy the sunshine!
