Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photo Credit goes to Flickr User Mike Willis

Photo Credit goes to Flickr User Mike Willis

I feel like I accomplished a lot yesterday. Kyle had an early day at work so I was able to spend the afternoon getting our taxes ready for next week’s appointment. Every year I tell myself this time I will keep up monthly, but I am always scrambling to pull it all together last-minute. Now I can move on to deep cleaning the house and having it ready to put on the market in April. It seems like we just did this (because we did) and the thought of showing, cleaning, and moving again….sigh!

Anyway, one of my favorite cleaning tools…baking soda. I am certain all I need for a clean house is vinegar, baking soda, and Young Living Oils (where to buy). These three ingredients combined equal no toxins, sparkling, fresh, and clean. I will never go back to store-bought cleaners again. All You has some great ideas for putting baking soda to work in every room of your house.

  • Freshen rugs by sprinkling baking soda on carpet, wait at least 15 minutes then vacuum up. I would add Purification and Thieves essential oil for fresh, clean carpet. You can also sprinkle this on your mattress, let sit, and then vacuum.
  • To brighten a dull floor finish, dissolve ½ cup baking soda in a bucket of warm water. Mop and rinse for a shiny floor. I would add Purification essential oil, a natural disinfectant and antimicrobial, to your bucket of warm water.
  • Make your own bathroom scrub by mixing ¼ cup baking soda with 1 tablespoon soap. Add vinegar to give it a thick, creamy texture. Again, add Purification to disinfect.
  • Pour in 1 cup baking soda followed by 1 cup hot vinegar to quickly unclog the kitchen drain.
  • Discourage weeds by sprinkling baking soda into the cracks on your driveway and walkways.
  • To clean a toilet, add ¼ cup baking soda to the bowl, swirl, then scrub. To maintain that shine use my DIY toilet cleaner.
  • To deodorize a drain, pour about ½ cup baking soda down the drain, followed by ½ cup vinegar. After 15 minutes, pour in boiling water to clean residue. NOTE: Use this method only if your pipes are metal. And never mix with other cleaning solutions. Don’t try this if you’ve recently used a commercial drain product. To maintain freshness in your kitchen sink try my DIY garbage disposal tabs.

You can view the original All You post and even more great ideas here. Happy cleaning!

Photo Credit: www.cleanmama.net A great site to follow for nontoxic, natural cleaning.

Photo Credit: http://www.cleanmama.net
A great site to follow for nontoxic, natural cleaning.

Ready to start your oily journey? Contact me today!

PSK

