Tags

, , , ,

The holiday season always reminds me of my weakness for sweets. It is easy to avoid sugar if it isn’t in your home, but put it in front of me and I have very little self-control. I do like to have snacks on hand and I try not to completely deprive my children of desserts and fun foods. To achieve some type of balance I started to search out healthier alternatives. For me, learning to cook with healthier ingredients is taking time. Often, I don’t get the taste or consistency I would like and have accepted that it is trial and error!

An easy recipe to start with is Black Bean Brownies. They have the color and consistency of the real thing, providing a fun snack that isn’t full of sugar. They lack that super sweet flavor so they will take some getting used to, but detoxing from a month of sugar has not been fun and my cravings are still there. Moving away from sugar is worth the temporary discomfort and your body will thank you for it!

For this Recipe you will need:

  • 1 15 ounce can of black beans, or 1 1/2 cups precooked black beans.
  • 1/2 cup cocoa (100%)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

You’ll find the full recipe here on the Super Healthy Kids website. This is a great page to follow. They have amazing recipes that are fast and easy!

